spaces.at.internet2.edu has been upgraded to Confluence 6.15.10. If you have any questions and/or concerns, please contact us at techsupport@internet2.edu


Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 5 Next »

The ITANA Business Architecture Working Group discusses the broad domain of Business Architecture with the intent to develop tools and methods for the IT organization to become a strategic partner with the business. The goal is to bring together practitioners and provide a forum for sharing resources, ideas, experience and, inspiration.

Interested in participating? Please contact Dana Miller at mille704@miamioh.edu


Working Group Members


NameInstitutionContact
Piet NiederhausenUniversity of Washingtonpietn@uw.edu
Robert DeinMiami University-Ohiodeinr@miamioh.edu
Daniel BlackMiami University-Ohioblackds2@miamioh.edu

Jonathan Duchateau

University of Wisconsinjonathan.duchateau@wisc.edu
Dana MillerMiami University-Ohiomille704@miamioh.edu
Robert SnyderPennsylvania State Universityrns3@psu.edu
Gregory Paul CharestHarvard Universitygregory_charest@harvard.edu
Raoul SevierHarvard Universityraoul_sevier@harvard.edu
Betsy DraperKansas Statebetsydraper@ksu.edu
Angela ChauncyKansas Stateangela@k-state.edu
Jeep HauserUSCjhauser@usc.edu
Jeff KennedyUniversity of Aucklandjken016@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Louis KaczmarekTuftsLouis.Kaczmarek@tufts.edu
Matthew McVeyTuftsmatthew.mcvey@tufts.edu
Rafael ManceraILUMNO Network - Whitney International University Systemrafaelmancera@gmail.com
Michael KhodoskoUniversity of ManitobaMichael.khodosko@umanitoba.ca
David HuthUniversity of UtahDave.Huth@utah.edu
Ladan HeitWilfred Laurier Universitylheit@WLU.CA
Russell ConnacherUC Berkeleyrussellc@berkeley.edu
Michael WatsonUniversity of NottinghamMike.Watson@nottingham.ac.uk
Ruth DodsonUniversity of Minnesotadodso015@umn.edu
Sara FoxUniversity of Saskatchewansara.fox@usask.ca





Week/DateTopicMaterial
10/27/17
  • ITANA Business Architecture Working Group Kick-Off Meeting
Meeting Notes
12/8/17
  • Determination of working group focus
  • Collection of Reference Material
  • Roundtable - Quick overview of what other campuses are doing in regards to Business Architecture
Meeting Notes
1/19/18
  • Sharing of experiences in developing a Business Architecture
  • Trying to define Business Architecture
Meeting Notes
2/2/18
  • Miami University Business Architecture Vision and Action Plan: Presentation by Dana Miller, Miami University-Ohio

Meeting Notes

Presentation

2/16/18https://docs.google.com/document/d/1LbBavVa_0zlfrNJ2fsA1lFdBnCbhCAQor8kMedO-wwE/edit?usp=sharing









Looking ahead:




12/21 -


API Governance


API Documentation - Swagger 3.0


  • Onboarding of developers to api management
  • Data access 
  • API Lifecycle
  • API SDLC - who gets to create apis. 


  •  




Topics of Interest


  • Microservices

  • Transitional services to APIs (Direct data stores access, DB, LDAP...etc)

  • Enterprise Data Objects, integration assets and Metadata repository

  • Data Modeling, tools, mappings and best practices

  • DevOps (automation, monitoring, deployment...etc)

  • Legacy file interfaces (Does it belong in SOA & Transition strategy?)

  • Developer engagement model

  • Domain of One’s Own


Additional topics





Business Architecture Working Group-WebEx

10/27/17

Initial Participants:

Piet Niederhausen, University of Washington, <pietn@uw.edu>,

Robert Snyder, Pennsylvania State University, <rns3@psu.edu>,

Charest, Gregory Paul, Harvard University,<gregory_charest@harvard.edu>

Dana Miller, Miami University of Ohio, <mille704@miamoho.edu>

Raoul Sevier, Harvard University, <raoul_sevier@harvard.edu>

J.J. Du Chateau, University of Wisconsin, <Jonathan.DuChateau@wisc.edu>

Louis King, Yale University, <louis.king@yale.edu>

  1. Areas of interest?

    1. Effective, repeatable tools/approaches/processes

    2. What works specifically in higher ed; what’s worked/hasn’t?

    3. Strategy/policy deployment

    4. Use of best practices such as Lean, Agile, ITSM, EA

    5. How and where does Business Architecture fit into higher ed?  What is the value proposition?

  2. Has this been done before?

    1. Itana presentation in 2016

  3. Review ITANA Charge to Working Groups

  4. Next Steps?
    Create a collaborative space to start sharing material, thoughts, etc.


  1. Reference Material

    1. http://www.bptrends.com/publicationfiles/THREE%2002-10-ART-Business%20Architecture-Missing%20Link-Michelson_bmm.pdf

    2. http://www.businessarchitectureguild.org/

    3. Business Architecture Material

    4. The Connected Enterprise

    5. MU Business Architecture Vision (Draft)


  1. Digital Asset Management Use Cases - Business Model









10/27/17

  • No labels