Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
The Itana Business Architecture Working Group (IBAWG) discusses the broad domain of Business Architecture in higher education with the intent to develop tools and methods for the IT organization to become a strategic partner with the business. The goal is to bring together practitioners and provide a forum for sharing resources, ideas, experience and, inspiration in this emerging domain of knowledge.

Interested in participating? Please contact Piet Niederhausen at pietn@uw.edu
Next Conference Call

Friday, January 28, 2021. 11 AM Alaska, Noon Pacific, 1 PM Mountain, 2 PM Central, 3 PM Eastern, 10 PM EET ... and the following day 7 AM NZST, 5 AM AEST

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

To join the Meeting: IBAWG Zoom Information

2021-2022 IBAWG Program

All meeting materials can be found in this folder. Want to propose or lead a session? Contact Piet Niederhausen at pietn@uw.edu

Autumn 2021 Call Program

DateSessionNotes
September 24

What's Your Business Architecture Vision?

As you think about applying business architecture at your institution, what challenges do you hope to address? What outcomes are you working toward?

  • Format: Open discussion; bring your thoughts and hear from your peers
Meeting materials
October 8

How Does Business Architecture Happen Today?

Most of us don't work in institutions with enterprise-wide business architecture practices. So how does business architecture happen today? How do enterprise goals and strategies get set, and decisions made about investments and initiatives? Who defines what the business of the institution is, and how is its "architecture" described?

  • Format: Open discussion; bring your thoughts and hear from your peers
Meeting materials
October 22

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

November 5

Organizational Readiness for Business Architecture

Most of us are just getting started with business architecture in our organizations. What should be in place for an enterprise, project, or team to benefit from business architecture? What about your current organization affects your ability to do what with business architecture?

  • Format: Open discussion; bring your thoughts and hear from your peers

November 19

Applying the Higher Education Reference Model

Tony Turrin will share his work applying a capability model while exploring and building shared language at the University of North Florida. He'll illustrate how to connect a stable capability framework with elements in the business within each capability.

  • Format: Presentation and discussion

Presentation deck

Business Terms and Rules example

December 3

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

December 17

CANCELED


Winter  2022 Call Program

DateSessionNotes
January 14

Business Architecture and People

What’s involved in getting people and teams to the point of working together on, and benefiting from, a business architecture analysis? What else do business architects need to do, such as network, facilitate, and influence?

  • Format: Open discussion; bring your thoughts and hear from your peers

January 28

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

February 11

Why Business Architecture?

What’s the purpose of doing business architecture in your organization? What are alternative or related practices, and what need does business architecture in particular fulfill? What outcomes are you looking for, and what do you need people to know about it? 

  • Format: Open discussion; bring your thoughts and hear from your peers

February 25

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

March 11

Starting Small With Business Architecture

What are smaller scale ways to apply business architecture, not for the whole enterprise? Where have business architects gotten traction in individual projects or teams?

  • Format: Open discussion; bring your thoughts and hear from your peers

March 25

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

Spring  2022 Call Program

DateSessionNotes
April 8

Architecting Alignment of IT and Business Outcomes

Often this is where business architecture gets started. How has business architecture been used to build alignment between IT and business stakeholders?

  • Format: Open discussion; bring your thoughts and hear from your peers

April 22

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

May 6

Strategic Change and Business Architecture

How should business architecture support major change efforts such as Digital Transformation (DX) or other institutional initiatives or strategies?

  • Format: Open discussion; bring your thoughts and hear from your peers

May 20

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

June 3Topic TBD
June 17

Unconference

  • Format: We'll build an agenda on the fly; propose a topic and discuss with your peers

Summer  2022 Call Program

DateSessionNotes

















  • No labels