The Itana Enterprise Architecture Maturity Model for Higher Education (EAMM) is a guide to understanding, assessing, and maturing enterprise architecture (EA) practices specifically in higher education institutions. It is intended for practitioners who wish to assess and grow their EA practices within a structured framework. These same practitioners may also use the model  to facilitate EA conversations with higher education leaders who are considering initiating or expanding EA practices.

The maturity model is organized into Maturity Levels and Maturity Attributes (illustrated at right).

EA Practice Maturity Levels

As an EA practice matures, it typically progresses through several levels of maturity:

1. Initiating: The EA practice is not yet formally recognized.
2. Formed: The EA practice is formally recognized and resourced.
3. Defined: The scope and capabilities of the EA practice are clearly defined.
4. Managed: The work and capacity of the EA practice are controlled and measured.
5. Improving: The EA practice is being continually improved.

EA Practice Maturity Attributes

An EA practice may mature differently in different attributes. The attributes in the maturity model are:

A. Scope Definition: How the scope of the EA practice is defined and evolved
B. Engagement: How the EA practice engages stakeholders based on its Scope
Impact Assessment: How the EA practice measures its performance within its Scope
D. Delivery: The means by which the EA practice delivers value
E. Management: How the EA practice manages itself.

Maturity Model on a Page

View the EAMM on a page.

Quick Start Guide

How to review your EA practice, identify actions, plan, execute, and re-assess.

Itana Member Contributions

Browse resources by maturity attribute, and view profiles of EA practices at other institutions.

Contribute Your Experiences

Help others advance their EA practices by sharing your own experiences!

  • No labels