Child pages
  • Fall 2015
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Fall 2015 NetGurus Meeting

Internet2 will provide NetGurus a room to be set in a closed Board style conference seating to support ~30 participants . The meeting will take place the Thursday after the Technology Exchange (October 4-7, 2015) conference concludes. We will have a projector and screen available if needed by participants.

Summary

Location

Cleveland, Oh

Room

Room 22

Date

October 8, 2015

Time

9:00am - 5:00pm

NOTE: Breakfast and lunch are on your own. A morning and afternoon break with snacks and beverages will be provided. We will go to dinner as a group the night before.

 

Tentative Agenda

Time

Activity

BreakfastOn your own

9:00am

Gurus start

10-10:30am

Break and networking 

Noon

Lunch on your own

3-3:30pm

Break and networking

6:00pm***

Gurus and Guests Dinner

***Note that the dinner is on Wednesday night, instead of after the meeting Thursday.

Attendance

Contact Dan Brisson (dbrisson@uvm.edu) or Dan Schmiedt (willys@clemson.edu) to RSVP and for topics you wish to discuss during the meeting. Attendance limit is 30.

Name

Email

Dan Brisson

dbrisson@uvm.edu

Dan Schmiedtwillys@clemson.edu

Michael Van Norman

mvn@ucla.edu

Danny Shuedanny_shue@unc.edu
Jose Dominguezjad@uoregon.edu
Alan Whinerywhinery@hawaii.edu
John O'Brienobrienjw@upenn.edu
Alok Vimawalaavimawal@umich.edu
Joe Breenjoe.breen@utah.edu
Kevin Mayeshirokmayeshiro@ucdavis.edu
Matt Wilsonmwilson@northwestern.edu
Peter Gutierrezpeterg@nic.umass.edu
Colin Murphymurphy@umn.edu
Aaron Smithcsmith6@swarthmore.edu
Charles Rumfordcharlesr@isc.upenn.edu
Ryan Turnerrhturner@email.unc.edu
Clark Gaylordcgaylord@vt.edu
Tony BrockAnthony.Brock@oregonstate.edu
Andrew Galloagallo@gwu.edu
Roy Hockettroyboy@umich.edu
Yul Pyunypyun@usc.edu
Matthew Almandmatthew-almand@tamu.edu
David Brockusdbrockus@ou.edu
Ludwig Gantnerlgantner@vt.edu
JoAnne Martonejoanne.martone@umass.edu
Frank Seesinkfrank@wvnet.edu

 

Discussion Topics and Notes

Topics are submitted by participants. Please contact Dan Brisson (dbrisson@uvm.edu) or Dan Schmiedt (willys@clemson.edu) to add an item to the agenda.

  • Campus-scale firewall solutions (products, network designs, governance, operational experience)
  • DDoS
  • Flow data collection, analysis, visualization, reporting
  • Overlay networks and segmentation
  • Configuration Orchestration (e.g. Tail-f, Anuta NCX)
  • Attribution (802.1x, PacketFence, ARP/ND scraping, etc)
  • IPAM
  • IPv6 deployment/adoption
  • NAT
  • Application load-balancing/reverse proxies
  • 40 and/or 100Gig Backbone links
  • Bro deployment - how people are using it, deployment strategies, etc.
  • Elk vs. Splunk
  • Enterprise 2fa - desktop/server/host auth practices vs. web app
  • TLS/eduroam/on-boarding
  • LTE-U

Dinner Options

TBD

 

Saying Hi to our old friend Jeff Handal:

 

Dinner time:

 

Thanks for the Support

Many thanks to our sponsors who have made this meeting possible:

Marie Modrell
Cecelia Dove
Kelly Faro
George Loftus
Internet2