spaces.at.internet2.edu has been upgraded to Confluence 6.12.2. If you have any questions and/or concerns, please contact us at collaboration-support@internet2.edu


Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
The ITANA API / Governance Working Group is reviewing API design best practices, governance, technologies and resources for higher education. Interested in participating? Please contact Ashish Pandit at aspandit@ucsd.edu


Working Group Members

NameInstitutionContact
Ashish PanditUCSDaspandit@ucsd.edu
Troy MartinBYUtroy_martin@byu.edu
Nathan Nolen
nxnolen@ualr.edu
Satwinder Singh
ss4878@columbia.edu
Harry Samuels
harry.samuels@northwestern.edu
Bob Guthrie
rguthrie@WUSTL.EDU
Robert Dein
deinr@MIAMIOH.EDU
Rupert Berk
rberk@UW.EDU
Paul Schurr
pschurr@uw.edu
Gary Chapman
gary.chapman@nyu.edu
David Roberts
daverob@med.umich.edu
Brian SavageBCbrian.savage@bc.edu
Russell Connacher
russellc@berkeley.edu

Jonathan Duchateau


jonathan.duchateau@WISC.EDU
Dave PerhneUMICHdcp@umich.edu

Luke Tracy

UMICHltracy@umich.edu
Adam Hochman
adam.hochman@ucop.edu
Cedeno, Jose Daniel
cedenoj@onid.oregonstate.edu
Tamer SakrUCBtamer.sakr@berkeley.edu
Phil Windley
Phil_Windley@byu.edu
Keith HazeltonUW-Madisonkeith.hazelton@wisc.edu
Ramapriya Ramasubramanian
Rama@northwestern.edu
Dave Berry
Dave.Berry@ed.ac.uk
Derek Wormdahl
derek@uoregon.edu
Eric GoodmanUniversity of CaliforniaEric.Goodman@ucop.edu
Kalpesh Patel
kalpesh.patel@northwestern.edu
Madan Dhanraj
mkd290@nyu.edu


mskweres@umn.edu
Narsa Reddy
Narsa.Reddy@asu.edu
Ramapriya Ramasubramanian
Rama@northwestern.edu
Reza Sarijlou
reza.sarijlou@utah.edu
Robert Yosowitz
Robert.Yosowitz@asu.edu


steinhof@umich.edu


tonlwalk@iu.edu
Jon TerronesUniversity of Wisconsin - Madisonjon.terrones@wisc.edu
Week/DateTopicMaterial
3/19/2015
  • API Governance
Meeting Note
4/3/2015
  • Roundtable - Quick overview of what their campus is doing
  • Conference update – Troy
  • Website Overview – Ashish

4/17/2015
  • Fine-grained authorization for RESTful APIs
Meeting Note
5/1/2015
  • Data Modeling
  • Review proposed survey

Meeting Note

Survey

5/29/2015
  • APIs, Data Models, and Fine Grained Authorization
Presentation
6/3-4
  • UniversityAPI Conference
Conference Notes
7/10
  • API Monitoring
Notes
11/13
  • API Manager Implementation
  • API Mgr Implementation by Dave Perhne ( University of Michigan )

Notes

Presentation

12/11
  • BYU API Architecture

Agenda

Presentation

Presentation-ppt

Recording

1/14/16
    • Person API definition
Agenda

  • University of Waterloo API Architecture and Implementation 

Agenda


Recording

Presentation - ppt

11/10/16
  • Discussing results of topics survey
  • Architectures - monolithic, microservices and modular

Survey results

Presentation - ppt

12/08/16
  • UW Madison Outages API

Presentation - part 1
Presentation - part 2

Slides 
Notes 


1/26

BYU architects and engineers are enhancing its university API infrastructure to improve online learning and teaching by building new systems that support self-sovereign user identity, personal learning environments and competency-based transcripts.  Technology to support these systems include student profiles, distributed ledgers, block chain identity systems and learner record store (LRS).


Notes

Recording

4/27BYU Developer portal architecture

Notes

Recording

5/25

Security Roundtable - Authentication/Authorization


6/22

Advance Security

Slides

Recording

8/24Governance -Roundtable
10/26API Governance - Matthew Hailstone

Slides

Recording

11/16TIER provisioning and RBAC demo

Recording

Slides

3/22

HAX project: API for content publishing in an LMS product – Bryan Ollendyke, Penn State

Recording
4/26Integration in modern enterprise architecture - Nuwan Bandara, Director of Solutions Architect, WSO2

Recording

Slides

5/26

BYU winter workshop recap – Matthew Hailstone

Adaptive API Governance – Ashish Pandit


6/26

Recording



Looking ahead:


12/21 -

API Governance

API Documentation - Swagger 3.0

  • Onboarding of developers to api management
  • Data access 
  • API Lifecycle
  • API SDLC - who gets to create apis. 
  •  

Topics of Interest

  • Microservices

  • Transitional services to APIs (Direct data stores access, DB, LDAP...etc)

  • Enterprise Data Objects, integration assets and Metadata repository

  • Data Modeling, tools, mappings and best practices

  • DevOps (automation, monitoring, deployment...etc)

  • Legacy file interfaces (Does it belong in SOA & Transition strategy?)

  • Developer engagement model

  • Domain of One’s Own

Additional topics

Integration in modern enterprise architecture

The_ABACUS is BYU's new authorization engine.  Built on ABAC (Attribute Based Access Control) principles, it allows a decoupling of page authorization from the developer code and gives the business owners control of the policies for who can access the data.  There will be a presentation on the structure and use of The_ABACUS with discussion to follow