spaces.at.internet2.edu has been upgraded to Confluence 6.15.10. If you have any questions and/or concerns, please contact us at techsupport@internet2.edu
Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 4 Next »


The ITANA Business Architecture Working Group discusses the broad domain of Business Architecture with the intent to develop tools and methods for the IT organization to become a strategic partner with the business. The goal is to bring together practitioners and provide a forum for sharing resources, ideas, experience and, inspiration.

Interested in participating? Please contact Dana Miller at mille704@miamioh.edu




Working Group Members


NameInstitutionContact
Piet NiederhausenUniversity of Washingtonpietn@uw.edu
Robert DeinMiami Uiversity-Ohiodeinr@MIAMIOH.



Jonathan Duchateau


jonathan.duchateau@WISC.EDU
Dave PerhneUMICHdcp@umich.edu

Luke Tracy

UMICHltracy@umich.edu
Adam Hochman
adam.hochman@ucop.edu
Cedeno, Jose Daniel
cedenoj@onid.oregonstate.edu
Tamer SakrUCBtamer.sakr@berkeley.edu
Phil Windley
Phil_Windley@byu.edu
Keith HazeltonUW-Madisonkeith.hazelton@wisc.edu
Ramapriya Ramasubramanian
Rama@northwestern.edu
Dave Berry
Dave.Berry@ed.ac.uk
Derek Wormdahl
derek@uoregon.edu
Eric GoodmanUniversity of CaliforniaEric.Goodman@ucop.edu
Kalpesh Patel
kalpesh.patel@northwestern.edu
Madan Dhanraj
mkd290@nyu.edu


mskweres@umn.edu
Narsa Reddy
Narsa.Reddy@asu.edu
Ramapriya Ramasubramanian
Rama@northwestern.edu
Reza Sarijlou
reza.sarijlou@utah.edu
Robert Yosowitz
Robert.Yosowitz@asu.edu


steinhof@umich.edu


tonlwalk@iu.edu
Jon TerronesUniversity of Wisconsin - Madisonjon.terrones@wisc.edu









Week/DateTopicMaterial
3/19/2015
  • API Governance
Meeting Note
4/3/2015
  • Roundtable - Quick overview of what their campus is doing
  • Conference update – Troy
  • Website Overview – Ashish

4/17/2015
  • Fine-grained authorization for RESTful APIs
Meeting Note
5/1/2015
  • Data Modeling
  • Review proposed survey

Meeting Note

Survey

5/29/2015
  • APIs, Data Models, andFine GrainedAuthorization
Presentation
6/3-4
  • UniversityAPI Conference
Conference Notes
7/10
  • API Monitoring
Notes
11/13
  • API Manager Implementation
  • API Mgr Implementation by Dave Perhne ( University of Michigan )

Notes

Presentation

12/11
  • BYU API Architecture

Agenda

Presentation

Presentation-ppt

Recording

1/14/16
    • Person API definition
Agenda

  • University of Waterloo API Architecture and Implementation 

Agenda


Recording

Presentation - ppt

11/10/16
  • Discussing results of topics survey
  • Architectures - monolithic, microservices and modular

Survey results

Presentation - ppt

12/08/16
  • UW Madison Outages API

Presentation - part 1
Presentation - part 2

Slides 
Notes 


1/26

BYU architects and engineers are enhancing its university API infrastructure to improve online learning and teaching by building new systems that support self-sovereign user identity, personal learning environments and competency-based transcripts.  Technology to support these systems include student profiles, distributed ledgers,block chainidentity systems and learner record store (LRS).


Notes

Recording

4/27BYU Developer portal architecture

Notes

Recording

5/25

Security Roundtable - Authentication/Authorization


6/22

Advance Security

Slides

Recording

8/24Governance -Roundtable
10/26API Governance - Matthew Hailstone

Slides

Recording

11/16TIER provisioning and RBAC demo

Recording

Slides




Looking ahead:




12/21 -


API Governance


API Documentation - Swagger 3.0


  • Onboarding of developers to api management
  • Data access 
  • API Lifecycle
  • API SDLC - who gets to create apis. 


  •  




Topics of Interest


  • Microservices

  • Transitional services to APIs (Direct data stores access, DB, LDAP...etc)

  • Enterprise Data Objects, integration assets and Metadata repository

  • Data Modeling, tools, mappings and best practices

  • DevOps (automation, monitoring, deployment...etc)

  • Legacy file interfaces (Does it belong in SOA & Transition strategy?)

  • Developer engagement model

  • Domain of One’s Own


Additional topics





Business Architecture Working Group-WebEx

10/27/17

Initial Participants:

Piet Niederhausen, University of Washington, <pietn@uw.edu>,

Robert Snyder, Pennsylvania State University, <rns3@psu.edu>,

Charest, Gregory Paul, Harvard University,<gregory_charest@harvard.edu>

Dana Miller, Miami University of Ohio, <mille704@miamoho.edu>

Raoul Sevier, Harvard University, <raoul_sevier@harvard.edu>

J.J. Du Chateau, University of Wisconsin, <Jonathan.DuChateau@wisc.edu>

Louis King, Yale University, <louis.king@yale.edu>

  1. Areas of interest?

    1. Effective, repeatable tools/approaches/processes

    2. What works specifically in higher ed; what’s worked/hasn’t?

    3. Strategy/policy deployment

    4. Use of best practices such as Lean, Agile, ITSM, EA

    5. How and where does Business Architecture fit into higher ed?  What is the value proposition?

  2. Has this been done before?

    1. Itana presentation in 2016

  3. Review ITANA Charge to Working Groups

  4. Next Steps?
    Create a collaborative space to start sharing material, thoughts, etc.


  1. Reference Material

    1. http://www.bptrends.com/publicationfiles/THREE%2002-10-ART-Business%20Architecture-Missing%20Link-Michelson_bmm.pdf

    2. http://www.businessarchitectureguild.org/

    3. Business Architecture Material

    4. The Connected Enterprise

    5. MU Business Architecture Vision (Draft)


  1. Digital Asset Management Use Cases - Business Model









  • No labels