Child pages
  • Fall 2018
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Fall 2018 NetGurus Meeting

Internet2 will provide NetGurus a room to be set in a closed Board style conference seating to support ~30 participants . The meeting will take place the Friday after the Technology Exchange (October 15-18, 2018) conference concludes. We will have a projector and screen available if needed by participants.

#TechEX18: Schedule Changes!

1. Tutorials, workshops, and some co-located meetings (i.e., REFEDS) begin on MONDAY, October 15; core days for track sessions and working meetings run from Tuesday, October 16 to Thursday., October 18.
2. Advance CAMP content and several co-located meetings (including NetGurus) and workshops continue into FRIDAY, October 19, so please plan your travel accordingly!

Summary

Location

Orlando, FL

Room

TBD

Date

Fri. Oct. 19, 2018

Time

9:00am - 5:00pm

NOTE: Breakfast and lunch are on your own. A morning and afternoon break with snacks and beverages will be provided. We will go to dinner as a group the night before.


Tentative Agenda - Note schedule change from 2017!

Time

Activity

Thurs 6:00pmGurus and Guests Dinner

Fri Breakfast

On your own

Fri 9:00am

Gurus start

Fri 10:00-10:30am

Break and networking 

Fri Noon

Lunch on your own

Fri 2:30-3:00pm

Break and networking

Fri 5:00pmFestivities end, must clear out promptly.

***Note that the dinner is on Thursday night, instead of after the meeting Friday.

Attendance

Contact Dan Brisson (dbrisson@uvm.edu) or Chris Cook (chris.cook@nyu.edu) to RSVP and for topics you wish to discuss during the meeting. Attendance limit is 30ish.

#

Name

Email

1Chris Cookchris.cook@nyu.edu
2Mike Van Norman

mvn@ucla.edu

3Joe Marentettejmarentette@wustl.edu
4Tony Brockanthony.brock@oregonstate.edu
5Andrew Galloagallo@gwu.edu
6Frank Seesinkfrank@wvnet.edu
7Bruce Curtisbruce.curtis@ndsu.edu
8Peter Gutierrezpeterg@umass.edu
9Dan Kirklanddok@umich.edu
10Yul Pyunypyun@usc.edu
11Anand Dhingraa.dhingra@northeastern.edu
12Scot Colburncolburn@ucar.edu
13Jeff Wilsonjeff_wilson@baylor.edu
14Alan Whinerywhinery@hawaii.edu
15Danny Shuedyshue@unc.edu
16Will Whitakerwill.whitaker@unc.edu
17Paul Murraypmurray@stanford.edu
18Joe Rogersjoe@usf.edu
19Alex Friasfrias@usf.edu
22Garry Peircepeirce@maine.edu
23Brian Flanaganbrian.flanagan@oit.gatech.edu
24Eric Smithemsmith@uoregon.edu
25David Farmerfarmer@umn.edu
26Will Marlyniukwillm@uic.edu
27Amy Liebowitzamylieb@umich.edu
28Dustin Tennilldustin.tennill@eku.edu
29Antonio Loboantonio.obo@udes.edu.co
30John Hessjhess@cenic.org
31Dan Schmiedtwillys@clemson.edu
32Clark Gaylordcgaylord@vt.edu
33Mike Scapellinoscars@rutgers.edu


Discussion Topics and Notes

Topics are submitted by participants. Please contact Dan Brisson (dbrisson@uvm.edu) or Chris Cook (chris.cook@nyu.edu) to add an item to the agenda.

  • IPAM solutions - tools, IPv6 handling, DNS PTR administration
    • DHCP servers/software

  • Campus Core Redesign
    • Pro’s/con’s of SPB, TRILL, QinQ, MACinMAC, etc... How to manage microsegmentation on a diverse campus, across sites and metro-ether service providers. Is there something IPAM-like or any kind of wiki templates to track the 16M possible network identifiers?
    • EVPN/VXLAN
      • Migrating from MPLS/VPLS
  • Datacenter Micro-segmentation

  • NAC Solutions
    • Enforcement points in use
      • Inline captive portals
      • Mac-auth
      • Etc...

  • Firewall & ADC administration - Networking or Security?
    • Biggest number of rules managed?

  • POTS->VoIP->Cell/Mobile - handset usage versus rise of the apps
  • Cloud: outsourcing data centers and server farms
  • All things wireless/IOT/etc.
    • On-boarding with Cloudpath, SecureW2, etc?
    • Migration from PEAP to TLS

  • Network Management Systems
    • Health Monitoring
    • Stats Graphing
    • Etc.
    • Automation with Ansible


Dinner Options

Amatista Cookhouse

https://goo.gl/maps/jnMNnaphwoS2



Thanks for the Support

Many thanks to our sponsors who have made this meeting possible:

Marie Modrell
Kelly Faro
George Loftus
Internet2