Child pages
  • Fall 2016
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Fall 2016 NetGurus Meeting

Internet2 will provide NetGurus a room to be set in a closed Board style conference seating to support ~30 participants . The meeting will take place the Thursday after the Technology Exchange (Sept. 26-28, 2016) conference concludes. We will have a projector and screen available if needed by participants.

Summary

Location

Miami, FL

Room

Trade (Lobby Level)

Date

Sept. 29, 2016

Time

9:00am - 5:00pm

NOTE: Breakfast and lunch are on your own. A morning and afternoon break with snacks and beverages will be provided. We will go to dinner as a group the night before.

 

Tentative Agenda

Time

Activity

BreakfastOn your own

9:00am

Gurus start

10:30-11:00am

Break and networking (Brickell Foyer - Lobby Level)

Noon

Lunch on your own

3-3:30pm

Break and networking (Brickell Foyer - Lobby Level)

6:00pm***

Gurus and Guests Dinner

***Note that the dinner is on Wednesday night, instead of after the meeting Thursday.

Attendance

Contact Dan Brisson (dbrisson@uvm.edu) or Cas D'Angelo (cas.dangelo@oit.gatech.edu) to RSVP and for topics you wish to discuss during the meeting. Attendance limit is 30.

Name

Email

Dan Brisson

dbrisson@uvm.edu

Cas D'Angelocas.dangelo@oit.gatech.edu

Peter Gutierrez

peterg@nic.umass.edu
John Kristoffjtk@depaul.edu
Drew Lakerlake2@depaul.edu
Dan MagorianDan.Magorian@jhuapl.edu
Andrew Galloagallo@gwu.edu
Danny Shuedanny_shue@unc.edu
Mike Van Normanmvn@ucla.edu
Tony Brockanthony.brock@oregonstate.edu
Yul Pyunypyun@usc.edu
Joe Rogersjoe@usf.edu
Jose Dominguezjad@uoregon.edu
David Teachdteach@uoregon.edu
Matt Wilsonmwilson@northwestern.edu
Amy Liebowitzamylieb@umich.edu
Charles Rumfordcharlesr@isc.upenn.edu
Dwayne Fennelldfennel@clemson.edu
Matt Zekauskasmatt@internet2.edu
Matthew Almandmatthew-almand@tamu.edu
Randy Dahiligrandyfd@triton.uog.edu
Jose Santiagojdsantiago@triton.uog.edu
Brian Flanagan

brian.flanagan@oit.gatech.edu

Liane Taroucoliane@penta.ufrgs.br
Adair Thaxtonsthaxton@email.unc.edu
Chris Cookchris.cook@nyu.edu
Noaman Khannoaman@gwu.edu
Joe Marentettejmarentette@wustl.edu
Dan Matthewsdcm81@case.edu

 

Discussion Topics and Notes

Topics are submitted by participants. Please contact Dan Brisson (dbrisson@uvm.edu) or Cas D'Angelo (cas.dangelo@oit.gatech.edu) to add an item to the agenda.

  • Internet2 network futures plan - What does the next generation network need to look like?
  • DDoS attack mitigation

    • This topic was covered fairly heavily during the conference due to Internet2's interest in offering this service
    • NoX working with Akamai on a solution for members
    • Concerns about large scale attacks against an entire /16, not just a single or a couple of hosts
    • Use a CDN for critical web assets instead of paying for DDoS mitigation services
    • Cost of impact:
      • Business cost
      • Reputation
    • Multiple happy Arbor customers
    • Create a common list of contacts to call when under a DDoS
    • Talk with local Risk Management office about DDoS to assist with costs
    • 3 out of 30 participants paying for DDoS mitigation services
    • 15 out 30 use RTBH
  • Cloud/Data center outsourcing, experiences, challenges

    • One school with "cloud first initiative" - explore cloud first for any new service
      • Virtualize and move servers to cloud
    • Another school with initiative 3yrs ago to move 75% of services to cloud - estimate that today only 3 out of a couple hundred have moved
      • Legacy app issues
      • Readying application developers an issue
      • Cloud is more expensive than led to believe
      • Looking now at private cloud now
    • Differences in offerings from cloud vendors
      • Bandwidth
      • IPSec
      • Resources available to researchers
    • 10 schools with private cloud service on campus - openstack
    • Only one school with "bursting into the cloud"
    • Report of a CIO forum with 4 CIOs speaking of advantages of the cloud
      • Keeping expertise in-house doesn't make sense
      • Rather have people manage relationships
    • How can we as network engineers be in the loop on enabling the move to the cloud 
  • Cloud automation
    • One school looking at Clicker for DNS automation
    • Another school going with Cisco offering
      • Ties into ServiceNow, Infoblox, Firewalls
    • Cloudlab mentioned
    • Setup VRF for connection to cloud
    • 3/4s of participants using VRFs on campus today
    • 5 with more than 10 vrfs on an interface
  • Automated network configuration management tools and techniques

    • Php/ipam used by one school
      • good documentation for automatic provisioning
    • Digital Ocean
    • Netbotz
    • Netdot
      • swiss army knife
      • does not support VRFs
    • Custom scripts to check:
      • Configs
      • ACLs not in use
      • DNS consistency
      • Check ospf database
    • Spectrum
    • Akips
    • Infoblox
    • Ansible & RANCID
    • Solarwinds
    • Netflow: SILK
    • Splunk
  • IPv6 deployment: L2 monitoring and auditing, IPv4 congruency

    • Netdb to scrape mac/ipv6 address
    • Slaac in use, b/c of Android not supporting DHCPv6
    • Anti-spoofing v6 ACLs
    • Ptp links at /127 out of a /64
    • FHRP protections still holding back until it’s on par with v4
    • V4 and v6 ACL congruence
    • Concern of rogue RAs
    • Issues with appliances supporting v6 routing protocols such as OSPF, ISIS, BGP
  • Wireless, issues of it becoming the dominant access method

    • AirPlay proximity
    • One school looking at Cisco ISE
    • Same school using 5ghz only SSID with 90% device use
    • Discussion on Packetfence
  • Data Center Interconnect methodologies
    • One school using Cisco's FabricPath
  • Carrier ethernet in the campus


Dinner Options

Pollos Jarras

 

Thanks for the Support

Many thanks to our sponsors who have made this meeting possible:

Marie Modrell
Kelly Faro
George Loftus
Internet2