spaces.at.internet2.edu has been upgraded to Confluence 6.12.2. If you have any questions and/or concerns, please contact us at collaboration-support@internet2.edu
Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

TAC Meeting 2014-09-18

Attending: Steve Carmody, Ian Young, Tom Barton, Keith Hazelton, David Walker, Jim Jokl, Scott Cantor, Michael Gettes

With: John Krienke, Tom Scavo, Ann West, IJ Kim, Nate Klingenstein

Ops Update

Per-entity Pilot – Ian reported that there is an instance ready for pilot use. It is in the Amazon cloud. The aggregate is pulling from InCommon and eduGAIN metadata. TAC members were asked to test, if interested. Documentation is not complete and a communication plan will be needed.

TIER

Two new TIER email lists are available (tier-discussion@internet2.edu and tier-architecture@internet2.edu)

Ron Kramer did a presentation on TIER at the Common Solutions Group (CSG), generating a lot of discussion and questions. The “three bucket” view of things seems to be understood and well received.

Chinese American Networking Symposium (CANS) Update

Keith Hazelton reported on the CANS meeting recently held at NYU While the meeting focused on network layer support for research and education, there was also discussion on federated identity and access management. There are some trial bilateral discussions going on with Peking University, and the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) has also shown interest in federation. The Chinese federation is not interested or ready for interfederation discussions, but there is interest from Peking University and CAS in joining InCommon. There are still many policy and technical issues to be resolved, including Chinese government mandates, before anything meaningful could be done.

Steering and eduGAIN

The InCommon Steering External Relations and Governance subcommittee has created a working group to look at the eduGAIN policy and recommend necessary changes to InCommon policy documents (the Participation Agreement and the FOPP).

Supporting Encryption at Service Providers

There has been discussion on the participants list concerning the need for service providers to support encryption. There is interest in establishing practices and behaviors that are important for SPs to follow that would increase confidence in the community. Nate will send an email with his thoughts on “identity vectors” and how they relate to this problem.

Next Meeting

Thursday, October 2, 2014 – 1 pm ET | Noon CT | 11 am MT | 10 am PT

  • No labels