Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

IAM Online - Thursday, December 9, 2010

1 p.m. EST / Noon CST / 11 a.m. MST / 10 a.m. PST
www.incommon.org/iamonline

Federated Access to Science Services and Infrastructures

Increasingly, virtual organizations (VOs) of scientists are collaborating across organizational boundaries, using large-scale cyberinfrastructure and hosted cloud services. For small- and medium-size VOs, the adoption burden is high to leverage such resources and enable secure access. This IAM Online will look at work being done to enable federated access to these services and infrastructures, and lower the barriers for such adoption.

Rachana Ananthakrishnan will present Globus Online, a fast, reliable and secure data movement service, hosted in the cloud, with a fire-and-forget ease of use for the scientists to manage their data transfer and sharing needs. Jim Basney will present cilogon.org, a service that uses federated authentication to provide certificates for access to cyberinfrastructure.

Guest Speakers

Rachana Ananthakrishnan, Principal Software Development Specialist, Argonne National Lab/University of Chicago

Jim Basney, Senior Research Scientist, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois

Host

Tom Barton, Sr. Dir., IT Architecture and Integration, University of Chicago

Connecting

We use Adobe Connect for slide sharing and audio: http://internet2.acrobat.com/iam-online.

For more details, see www.incommon.org/iamonline.

ABOUT IAM Online

IAM Online is a monthly online education series including essentials of federated identity management, hot topics from the EDUCAUSE Identity and Access Management Working Group, and emerging topics in IAM. Experts provide overviews, answer questions and lead discussions. IAM is brought to you by InCommon in cooperation with Internet2 and the EDUCAUSE Identity and Access Management Working Group.

  • No labels